Create a Workflow (Workflow Editor)

Overview


The Workflow Page allows users to create and/or edit existing workflows. Using the Workflow Editor, you are able to drag and drop blocks from the list of integrations.

The Workflows tab

Before You Begin

Make sure you have the appropriate permissions to interact with the required integrations in the Workflow Editor.

The Workflow Editor is accessible by clicking the "+ Create" button to create a new workflow, or by clicking on an existing workflow from the list.

The Workflow Editor page

About the Task

This is how users build workflows within the system.

Basics

After creating a workflow or clicking on an existing one, confirm the flow's name in the upper-left corner of the page. You can change the name by clicking on the three vertical dots next to "Run" in the upper-right corner of the page and selecting "Save as".

By default, each workflow contains a "Start block" and an "End block" that designate the start and the end, respectively, of a particular workflow. Optionally, each flow can have a description.

Variables

In every workflow, you have the ability to create variables that can be referenced throughout the workflow. To begin creating a variable, select the down arrow in the right of the Start block. This will expand the block to reveal a few options for your first variable. To create more variables, click "+ Add Variable".

Checking the "Advanced" box on the Start block reveals additional options for your variable: "scope", "type", and the "required" option.

Option

Description

Name

This is the name of your variable.

Default

This is the default value of your variable.

Scope

The scope of a variable is its visibility, i.e. whether other workflows calling this workflow can see this variable.

Type

The type of your variable, i.e. string, boolean, integer, double, object, etc.

Required

Selecting this checkbox indicates the variable MUST have a value for the workflow to execute.

Input

Selecting this indicates to the system that this variable is an input for the workflow.

Output

Selecting this indicates to the system that this variable is an output of the workflow.

Delete

This removes the variable from the workflow.

Variable Scopes:

Option

Description

Intermediate

Accessible from some outside flows

Local

Only accessible from inside this flow

Global

Accessible from all outside flows

cURL

To access the cURL of a workflow, press the cURL button. This will reveal the cURL for this workflow. It provides a sample of the RESTful endpoint for this specific workflow. If there are variables defined above, those will be present in the sample as well. You can use this URL to test calling the workflow from a remote system (assuming it has access to the platform).

MET

The Manual Execution Time option simplifies reports on the Return on Investments (ROI) calculation. It shows you the time in minutes that is saved by running the flow as opposed to completing tasks manually. You can choose between a default automated MET calculation and a manually inputted MET calculation. For information on MET, please see Manual Execution Time (MET)

Integrations

On the right side of the page, you will see groups of API calls that can be dragged into the workflow. To find a particular API call, select its respective group, and navigate the tree of integrations.

You can also find a specific API call using the search icon at the top of the top-right corner of the section.

Once an API call is located, its description can be read by placing the cursor on the question-mark icon.

API calls are introduced into the workflow with a simple click-and-drag. Another way of doing this is by clicking the "Take block" icon, which prompts one or multiple dashed rectangular areas to appear between the Start and End blocks. Clicking any of them places the integration there automatically.

Workflow Blocks

Naming a Block

Each block has a title (which is the title of the specific API call) as well as a name (which you can define). By default, each block is assigned a unique letter and number combination. You can edit this name by clicking on the default name and changing it to something more descriptive.

Block Content

After a block is positioned in the correct place (it can always be moved later) and has an appropriate name (or the default name), you need to fill in the variables that are required for that API block. These variables will vary depending on the specific API call. "AuthKey", for example, is the authentication key for this integration. For more information on authentication, see the Authentication section below.

Block Actions

There are three actions you can perform on a block from the three-dotted menu.

Action

Description

Move

Allows you to move the block somewhere else in the workflow. This can also be done simply by dragging and dropping the block into a new location within the workflow.

Clone

Allows you to make an instant copy of the block.

Locate

Gives you the exact location of the block within the tree of integrations on the right side of the Editor.

You also have the ability to delete and disable a block from a workflow. If a block was needed previously and not needed now, disabling provides an easy way to isolate the block without changing the workflow.

Additional features 

  1. You can see the output variable(s) by clicking on the arrow at the bottom right.


2. Expressions are suggested by the system based on what you type.

3. You can add comments to each block.

Authentication

Adding Authentication Keys

To add authentication, click on the "Auth" button located on the upper-right side of the page. Next, press "Add Authentication".


To add an authentication, you must fill out the following parameters:

Parameter

Description

Name

This is the name of the authentication. You should ensure that this is unique and has enough details for other users to know what system this authentication is for.

Description

This is the description of the authentication.

Service

This is the service or integration for which you are adding an authentication. The dropdown menu will reveal a list of automatically populated integrations that are loaded on the platform.

After selecting a service, you will need to fill out the required properties to connect to the integration. Additionally, each property may be set to either "Read" or "Override".

Option

Description

Read

Allows other users to see this information. NOTE: If this is not selected, the parameters entered here are not visible again through any part of the system.

Override

This allows the parameter to be overridden in the workflow. If you are looking to pass in a set of IPs to make a change to, this is where you tell the system that this particular parameter can be overridden in-line of the workflow.

Viewing Existing Authentications

To view existing authentications, click the "Auth" button and press "Authentications". A pop-up will appear that lists the authentications within the workflow.

Running a Workflow

To run your workflow, click on "Run" on the top-right corner of the screen. The workflow will be autosaved. 

At the bottom of the page, a message should appear in green saying that the workflow has been successfully completed.

If there's a problem, the message will be in red and the workflow will fail to execute. The flow run is invalid if you have missed completing a required field or have written incorrect values in certain fields.


Every flow run is reflected in the Dashboard and Logs in real-time.

Object Editor and Debug

To have more flexibility when working with workflows, you can use the "Show Tools" option, located on the three-dotted menu. It will expand a tab with two screens: the Object Explorer and the Debug functionalities.

Another way to show these screens is by clicking on any value inside a block.

The Object Explorer allows for easier and more intuitive previewing and editing of block parameters.

During debugging, the workflow will automatically pause so that you can check its state. Four different actions can be applied during the pause: Resume, Start Over, Stop, and Step.

To the left of every block included in a workflow, there is a square with a blue circle that turns red upon clicking. In this way, the debugging process can focus on the state of each block individually.

Committing a Workflow

To send the workflow to a pre-defined GIT repository, click "Commit". You should have the name of the repository in advance.

Saving a Workflow

To save a workflow, press the "Save" icon located at the top right corner of the screen. This allows for saving progress and returning to the workflow later.