Manual Execution Time (MET)

Overview

Pliant utilizes Manual Execution Time (MET) to simplify reports on the Return on Investments (ROI) calculation. MET shows you the time in minutes that is saved by running flows as opposed to completing tasks manually. You can choose between a default, automated MET calculation and a manually inputted MET calculation

Types of MET 

Change between Automatic and Manual MET 

MET values are calculated and added to the total time saved each time a flow is executed. Thus, neither an automatic nor a manual change to the MET will alter previous MET reports.

Automatically Calculated MET

MET calculations are set to automatic by default, meaning that the MET will be calculated using basic heuristics. 30 seconds of MET will be attributed to each action block that is executed in a flow. Auto MET is calculated while each execution of a flow is performed.

Note: An automatic MET of a flow includes the MET of all its executed subflows.

If a workflow fails, the saved time is calculated until the first block that causes the flow to fail. E.g. if a flow has 5 blocks and the second block causes an error and the workflow fails, Auto MET will be calculated as 2 blocks x 30 seconds = 1 minute.

Manually Entered MET

You can change the default setting to input a MET value manually.

Note: A manually entered MET of a flow will not include the MET of its executed subflows. 

For example, if you have a parent flow and you’ve set 5 minutes for its MET and you include a subflow with a MET of 15 minutes, the parent flow’s MET will remain 5 minutes.

To change the MET:

  1. Open workflow by clicking on its name in the Workflows page. 

  2. Click the downward-facing chevron on the “Start” bar to expand it.

  3. Uncheck the “Auto” option by clicking on the checkbox or the word “Auto.” 

  4. Input any MET value between 0 and 1000000 minutes in the field that appears to the right of the unchecked “Auto” option. 

Note: If this field is left blank, red text will appear under it saying “This field is required.” 

To remove your manually inputted MET, recheck the “Auto” option by clicking on the checkbox or the word “Auto.”

If you need to collapse the settings, click on the upward-facing chevron. 

View MET without entering the Editor

To see the basic MET report of a specific workflow without entering the editor, go to the “Workflows” page. Hover over the name of a specific flow to view its details including the MET saved.