Worker Groups

Overview


On this page, you can create, store and manage worker groups.

The Worker Groups page

Before you begin

From your Pliant instance, click Global Settings and select Worker Groups.

Make sure you have permission to create and manage workers on the platform.

Features

  • Search for a worker group by typing its name in the Search bar.

  • Sort worker groups by their name, description, active workers, inactive workers, terminated workers, total workers or whether they validate certificates or not.

  • Enable or disable a worker group’s ability to validate certificates when their workers are making API requests.

  • If you click on a worker group, you can see a list of its attached workers. It will pop up just below the main list.
    You can collapse the module by pressing the worker group again.

  • You can sort workers based on their name, status, secondary status, IP address, type, and time of last heartbeat.

Active workers are considered fully operational, while terminated workers are treated as permanently deactivated.

Procedure to create a worker group

  1. Click Create Worker at the top-right corner of the page.

A separate window will appear where you need to go through four fields.

  • Name - the name of the worker group.

  • Description - optional description for the worker group.

  • Secret - the password, or secret, for the worker group.

  • Confirm Secret - a copy, or confirmation, of the secret for the worker group.

  • The optional Set hosts excluded from Proxy for this group menu gives you the ability to define such IP hosts. Enter the desired hosts and click the Add Host button to add them to the worker group configuration.

The Validate Certificates slides ensures that the worker group will check whether to trust an Enterprise CA certificate for their command channel via the API_CA_CERT environment variable. This variable contains the trusted certificate in PEM format instead of disabling strict certificate checking.

2. Click Save to finish creating the new worker group.

Procedure to download workers

Deprecated!

The feature to download worker groups as binaries has been deprecated since Release 2023.3!

You can download your existing worker groups as ZIP files for macOS, Windows, and Linux. This allows you to back them up and use them in an external environment.

  1. Click the Download worker button and select your OS.

2. A file should be downloaded automatically in a few seconds, depending on the size of your workers.

Worker group actions

There are three actions you can perform on worker groups. Click the three-dot button in the Actions column.

  • Edit - this allows you to make changes to the worker group’s details (except the name). When you’re done, click Save.

Modifying the default worker group can have more serious consequences.

In this scenario, the Edit window will include a warning.

  • History - this reveals a list of all workers the worker group has had in its lifespan, including details about them.

  • Delete - this allows you to remove the worker group entirely but will ask you for confirmation first.

Deleting the default worker group can have more serious consequences.

A different kind of warning will be issued.